Search Salons

Hunter & Walsh in Penzance

Hunter & Walsh
  • Description

    Established in 2003 by Nadine Hunter and Vivienne Walsh, Hunter & Walsh has become known for their exceptional standard of hairdressing and superior client experience in beautiful surroundings. Where else would you have a view of the sea whilst having your hair done, but in the best hairdressers in Penzance?

    The salon boasts a team which is rich in experience and creativity. Each team member is passionate and professional. The dedicated team offers the latest in cutting and colouring technniques, suitable for your needs and lifestyle. The salon uses the best hairdressing products available and can tailor treatments and services to suit you.

    Hunter & Walsh is committed to staff training, the team is made up of different tiered stylists depending on their experience in the industry, from the graduates to the directors you can be fully assured that your experience and service will be first class.

  • Contact Details

    01736 360022

    • 17/18 Wharfside Shopping Centre
    • Penzance
    • Cornwall
    • TR18 2GB
  • Opening Hours

    Monday

    Closed

    Tuesday

    09:00 - 17:00

    Wednesday

    09:00 - 17:00

    Thursday

    09:00 - 17:00

    Friday

    09:00 - 17:00

    Saturday

    09:00 - 16:30

    Sunday

    Closed

About Us

Established in 2003 by Nadine Hunter and Vivienne Walsh, Hunter & Walsh has become known for their exceptional standard of hairdressing and superior client experience in beautiful surroundings. Where else would you have a view of the sea whilst having your hair done, but in the best hairdressers in Penzance?

The salon boasts a team which is rich in experience and creativity. Each team member is passionate and professional. The dedicated team offers the latest in cutting and colouring technniques, suitable for your needs and lifestyle. The salon uses the best hairdressing products available and can tailor treatments and services to suit you.

Hunter & Walsh is committed to staff training, the team is made up of different tiered stylists depending on their experience in the industry, from the graduates to the directors you can be fully assured that your experience and service will be first class.

Opening Hours

  • Monday:
    Closed
  • Tuesday:
    09:00 - 17:00
  • Wednesday:
    09:00 - 17:00
  • Thursday:
    09:00 - 17:00
  • Friday:
    09:00 - 17:00
  • Saturday:
    09:00 - 16:30
  • Sunday:
    Closed
4.9

251 reviews

  • Service
  • Value
  • Result
  • Cleanliness
  • Atmosphere
  • 5 stars (243)
  • 4 stars (6)
  • 3 stars (1)
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars (1)
Reviews Write A Review

Brilliant, good as a facelift. Thanks to Josh for taking the time to show me how to shade them.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

You are every welcome Maggie xx

Excellent first visit

Hannah Gardiner - 23rd Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

It was my first time trying out this salon ! Really impressed with everything, rosabel was really helpful with making sure I got the look I wanted , really professional and relaxing salon

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

You are so welcome, I am delighted that you had a great experience with us, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Really very pleased, hair looks great and got helpful tips too. Thanks josh!

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

You are so welcome, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely review xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Vivienne was fantastic, she listened to me, looked at my photos, gave me lots of choices and I was really pleased with the result. Always a lovely treat to go there

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

The pleasure is all mine Kerrys, I love doing your hair. Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review, Viv xx

What a fab place !

Lin Rees - 22nd Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

I went back to this lovely salon after a few years away. Although now in fantastic new premises it was Great to see that their priority of providing a luxurious client experience, teamed with total professionalism remains. I am so happy with colour and cut. My stylist Rosabel was great at asking questions to get to the base of what I really wanted out of my hairstyle. All staff were welcoming and friendly, Decor is fab, coffee flowed freely, view from your chair is gorgeous and ahhhhh those massage chairs at the basins - bliss! A real treat all round Thank you Hunter & Walsh

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Thank you so much Lin, it was great to see you again, thank you for coming back to us xx

What’s there not to like ......

Sue Olds - 22nd Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

A lovely warm welcome as always
Have come away with a stunning cut Josh very attentive and made me feel a million dollars, thank you

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

It is always a pleasure to see you in the salon, thank you for your lovely review xx

First class always...

Wendy Kassamani - 21st Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Such delightful, friendly and professional staff. Appointment day is always a special day to look forward
to !

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Wendy thank you so so much for your gorgeous review. We love that you love coming here. xx

Perfectly nice but not what I wanted

Zanna G - 21st Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

I don’t usually go to salons but I wanted to this time because it was a big deal to cut my long hair after 10 years and I felt I wanted to make a thing of it and be a bit pampered.
The salon is really fancy and the people were perfectly lovely when I came in.
Overall I would say the experience was okay but I didn’t feel like I was pampered and it was a bit of a let down in a few ways.
I’m freelance and work from home, and I’m also a new mum so opportunities to talk to people are a bit thin on the ground for me. Unfortunately Josh wasn’t very chatty. It would have meant a lot to me to have a conversation but he didn’t seem much interested. Bit sad when I could hear the other hairdressers chatting away to their clients.
I don’t think the cut suits me that well. I wanted something modern looking and up to date as I might be a mum but I’m only 26. The cut looks pretty old lady-ish, especially the shaping around the front which I said I didn’t want initially but Josh persuaded me into it. Wish I’d stuck with my gut.
He did really sweetly offer at the end to fix any problems I had with the cut but I don’t really want to go back in. I think I’ll find a hairdresser who is a bit more chatty, and who listens to what I really want a bit more.
I realise that this is just another day in the office for a hairdresser and that they cut off long hair all the time, but it was still a big deal for me and honestly I left feeling a bit flat and disappointed.
I don’t think that they’re a bad hairdresser or anything and I am sure on another day for another person it would have been a different experience, but it just wasn’t right for me.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

That is such a shame you felt that way, Josh is such a lovely man and is very friendly. We pride ourselves on great customer service and we want you to have a lovely time in our salon.
As Josh explained, as standard our aftercare service is available to you to have another 15 minutes free of charge if there is anything you don't like, especially if you have had a big change as you did.
But we would love for you to come back in and allow us to look after you and repeat the experience for you, free of charge of course. Josh can look at the cut again and get it so it does suit you.
Just ring up and book back in whenever is convenient for you.

Consultation with josh on Saturday, suggested a strand test, Took 5 days to get a stand test, a message left on Wednesday, by someone other than josh saying we can’t do anything with your hair. No alternatives no suggestions, just we can’t do anything. Well I’ve never had that advise before!! Don’t worry I’ll go somewhere else.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

I am sorry that you feel that way.
Josh did your strand test the first chance he got, which was first thing Wednesday morning, as he works Wednesday to Saturday.
Josh was so busy on Wednesday that he asked the receptionist to call you to let you know he would not be able to achieve your desired result without causing significant damage to your hair.
In our salon, your hair health is the most important thing for us. We do a free consultation to find out what your desired result is and we test for that. It is unfortunate that what you want is not possible.
We are sorry you are unhappy with this service.

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

I had a lovely hair cut which was exactly what I wanted. Freya took the time to listen to me, and to support my ideas and to suggest possibilities. It was a beautiful time. Thank you Freya.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Immediately I walked into the salon Viv knew I hated the mushroom cloud that my hair had morphed into and did her absolute best to suggest a way to deal with it. Came out feeling fantastic, even my husband said my new cut took years off me! Thanks everyone at Hunter Walsh, the pleasure, as they say, is all mine!!!

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I love cutting your hair! I am delighted that you love your new do, Viv xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

As always, fantastic cut in a relaxed salon, with fab staff and wonderful views!

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Thank you Tracey, I absolutely love doing your hair, Viv xx

Pleased with my hair...

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Thank you for your review xx

Feeling a million dollars!

Karen Nicholas - 14th Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Came into the salon looking like a scarecrow... Came out feeling q million dollars. Love my cut and overall experience at the salon

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

We are delighted that you live your new hair. See you next time and thank you so much for leaving such a great review. Xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Absolutely delighted with my hair. Look forward to my next visit. Jade has done a great job!

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Thank you susie. It was great to see you today, Jade. Xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Louise was recommended by the lovely Freya to look after me while she sunned herself in Thailand.
Thank you Louise... you are a star!! Precision cut..love it!!

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

We are missing Freya but dont want her to come back with her tan!! I am so glad Louise looked after you so well, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! Viv

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

This was my first visit, and I was enormously impressed. I have fine, frizzy, curly hair (not fair!) and Josh understood how it behaved and how to make the best of it immediately - an understanding which I have found to be rare amongst many stylists elsewhere.
He also listened to what I wanted in terms of style and colour, and why, and gave me advice on how we could achieve those goals over an estimated time frame. And he was also lovely.
All other staff were great too, and the salon and view are the best in Penzance.
I would highly recommend the salon and Josh's abilities to others.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

Rebecca,

That review made me so happy, I am delighted that you had a great experience in our salon.
We are so proud of our whole team and totally agree, Josh is fantastic!!

Thank you so so much for taking the time to leave such a great review

Viv xx

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

I love going to get my hair done. all the staff are Lovely.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

And we love your visits, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review xx

All over colour refresh

Bridget Macfarlane - 7th Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

Jade is an excellent colourist

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

We totally agree Bridget, Jade is wonderful. Xx

I wouldn't go anywhere else

Tehmina Goskar - 7th Feb 2019

Verified Appointment Verified by iSalon Software

I have been using H&W for over 7 years. They bring a much needed sparkle to Penzance. Their stylists understand my 'difficult' hair. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Service
Value
Result
Cleanliness
Atmosphere
Response from Hunter & Walsh

It is always a pleasure to see you Tehmina. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, Viv xx

Start your review of Hunter & Walsh

Click to rate